Posted by: traceyhanson | March 6, 2012

Lets talk about running

Or, how about I talk about running. I think I have said in the past that I like LOVE to run. For those who don’t know I have been running/a runner/crazy running freak for about 27 years. I have been called crazy, stupid, freak, dumb and many other names because I love to run. That is fine, none of that bothers me. It is what I do, it is who I am, it is in my blood.

Today was one of those “everything is great about this run” day. It was the first 60 degree day of the year. I rushed home so I could get on the trail before it got dark. Got on my shorts and NEW SHOES on and jumped on the bike trail. And then the biggest smile came across my face. It was warm, the snow was melting, there were puddles to run through and everyone in the Burg was grilling. All of that put a little extra spring in my step.

When I run, I’m free. I don’t have to obey any rules. I can choose whatever path I want. I can run fast or slow. I run in puddles and mud and get dirty. There are so many wonderful smells to take in when you are outside; Fresh cut grass, grills, mud, flowers, etc. I love that I have control over every aspect of my run (well, except a tight muscle or heavy legs.)

I love the way I feel after I run, even a bad run. It’s such a high and exhilarating experience.

I just had to get that on paper or blog…..whatever. Looking forward to my next run.

Responses

  1. Sounds like a wonderful run! Glad you are so proud to be a runner. Don;t worry, you’re not the only one out there who’s looked on as a bit of a freak, crazy person or been called dumb for being a runner. That’s just who we are and they’re just jealous that they’re not having as much fun as we are. 😉 Best of luck in your running!


Leave a Reply

Categories

