Posted by: traceyhanson | June 5, 2012

Madison Half

I rocked it but at the same time it was HARD!  1:51 was my final time.  I think I ran a smart race overall. The first 6 miles were very easy. I felt good and I kept trying to slow down from my 8:20 pace. I wanted to end strong. Mile 7-8 is where I started to have the negative thoughts. 8-9 sucked mentally and I had to stop for about 10 sec to stretch my ankle. Once I hit 10 I kept telling myself… only three more. At the final turnaround the sun was on my back and it was HOT. The last mile I was ok until the turn up the hill to the Capital. I literally walked four steps up the hill, the heat did get me that last mile. But I finished strong and had sprint to the finish. Got to meet so many awesome new friends. Great day. And great job city of Madison, good event.

I love runners. I love running events. It just gives me such a positive outlook in life when I see people who have trained so hard for something put it all on the line. From the elite finishing in 1:10 to the first time runner struggling to finish in 4 hours. Respect to every single person out there.

I was very emotional walking to the starting line. Seeing new friends and old friends/teammates made me smile. The butterflies reminded me of such bigger events (Nationals in College) and I had tears in my eyes. But once the gun went off, I just smiled and got comfortable with a bunch of crazy runners like me.

Madison did a great job. I was very impressed with every volunteer, race official and whoever made the day possible. High fives all around.

One of my goals for the year is in the books and it has a smiley face next to it.

Responses

  1. […] have slacked off in the running department this summer. After the half in May and Ragnar Relay in June, I decided to take it easy and keep the miles low. In August I […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

