Posted by: traceyhanson | July 9, 2012

Beer and Cheese Make Us Fartlek

I wish I would have written a post right after the Ragnar Relay to capture how I really felt about the experience. What is the Ragnar Relay? From their website:

“Ragnar is the overnight running relay race that makes testing your limits a team sport. A team is made up of 6-12 individuals; each individual runs 3 legs. The legs of the race vary in difficulty and distance, from 3-8 miles, allowing elite and novice runners to run together. Over 2 days and 1 night, teams run across 200 miles of the country’s most scenic terrain. Pair that with crazy costumes, inside jokes, a great finish line party and unforgettable stories. Some call it a slumber party without sleep, pillows or deodorant. We call it Ragnar.”

Yeah, I did that. I did that with runners I have never met before, or a couple I met just weeks before the race. How did I meet them? Facebook and Twitter. That’s how it works. And runners rock. And we had fun. My legs were 8.2, 5.3 and 4.8 to = 18.3 miles. It was hot and steamy. The best leg? The one at 2 am through Oak Creek, WI. Yes, 2 am. Best run ever. I can’t even explain it. It was dark, no lights, just runners with blinky lights on their back racing through some random streets and trails to get to the next point.

400 + teams. 6-12 runners per team. Vans decorated. Cow bells and whistles. No sleep and Jimmy Johns. Sleeping in vans, football fields and gym floors. Carbs and more carbs. Salt and Gatorade. Seeing old friends and meeting new. Beer at the end with the coolest medals ever.

I love runners. I love the crazy shit we do. I love how we just get each other and our running life. At the second-hand off I just looked around and realized I’m not the only crazy freaky runner out there.

Best experience ever. Thank you Beer and Cheese Make Us Fartlek.

 

Responses

  1. […] have slacked off in the running department this summer. After the half in May and Ragnar Relay in June, I decided to take it easy and keep the miles low. In August I picked up the miles again […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

